Palatul regelui Carol al II-lea de la Scroviştea, judeţul Ilfov / King Carol II’s palace in Scroviştea, Ilfov county
|Limba de redactare||română|
|Excerpt||The article is about an unknown and, unfortunately, destroyed palace that King Carol II constructed by the Scroviştea lake, part of the Royal Hunting Estate in Periş village (Ilfov county). Built on the designs of the architect Alexandru Zaharia, in the so called mediterranean revival style, with decorative Tuscan touches, the new palace in Scroviştea was erected between 1938 and 1940 by Emil Prager’s entreprise, in addition with other outbuildings such as the Adjutants’ Pavilion, the Staff’s Accommodations and the Guard House.
Finished using high-quality materials brought from France, Italy and Germany, provided with the most modern systems and facilities at the time (central heating, sanitary fittings, electricity and refrigerating machines), made by prestigious foreign companies (Sulzer Frères, Siemens-Schuckert, General Electric), the grand palace of 91 rooms - which, in 1943, impressed the philosopher Constantin Rădulescu -Motru - was not inhabited, not even inaugurated, by his august owner who abdicated and left Romania on 6th September 1940.
Abandoned at the moment when almost made and kept in preservation, the Palace in Scroviştea (four buildings with 210 rooms in total), was nationalized in 1948 and destroyed in 1959, by the order of Gheorghe Gheorghiu-Dej, to give place to a modern building for the party nomenclature’s entertainment. Happily, the royal pavilions existing in the park were preserved till nowadays, as time witness of a unique royal residential architectural monument’s existence, located by the lake which, once, was ennobled by Romania’s kings and queens.
|Titlul volumului de apariție|